1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

3 fingers

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by fink_91, Mar 13, 2008.

1. fink_91

fink_91

Mar 13, 2008
    I am new to the Talk Bass forum but I have been playing bass for around a year in half. I currently use 2 fingers to play and I want "upgrade" to 3. I am practicing the 3 finger technique and I know its personal preference of how you want to do it. But I want to know what you guys think and which way is the fastest.

I currently go index, middle, index, ring, index, middle...etc.
    and index, middle, ring, middle, index.

Any advice, I will appreciate greatly.

2. HollowBassman

HollowBassman

Jun 24, 2007
    Hancock, MD
    The fastest way will be the one that feels most natural.

3. mikeyswood

mikeyswood Banned

Jul 22, 2007
    Cincinnati OH
    Luthier of Michael Wayne Instruments
    Try odd rythms to get your fingers moving. For three fingers start with straight 1/8s and accent 1 and 3. This will put the accent on a different finger each time. Once you get used to that move to more complicated rythms: 1e& ,2 &a, & , a.... and move accents around.

Practice both backwards and forwards until any finger pattern feel normal and then practice again :)

4. fink_91

fink_91

Mar 13, 2008
    The index, middle, index, ring way feels natural. But the other way does as well. I think I can move faster with the index, middle, index, ring way.

The akward thing about learning to play with 3 fingers is that it feels as if I am starting to learn all over again like string skipping.

5. fink_91

fink_91

Mar 13, 2008
    Thanks Mikey for the advice

Gonna break out the ole metronome

6. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147
    Lots of good advice above.