Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

3 novice P Bass finishing questions

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by zeronyne, Jan 25, 2006.

1. zeronyne

zeronyne Recovering Keyboard Player

Nov 24, 2003
    Chicago
    Like some others on this forum, I am in the process of assembling a P bass bodied (Mighty Mite), J necked (black blocks and binding...All Parts) P Bass.

I'm a complete beginner at putting a bass together,but I think this will be a great learning experience. I've done a ton of reading, but I'd appreciate some advice on 3 issues I'm having.

1) The All Parts neck is completely finished and new, but the person I bought it from put a Fender decal on it and clearcoated over it (It actually looks pretty damn good). I want to paint the headstock solid black and finish it with poly. Do I need to sand off ALL the clearcoat, or can I just sand down to removing the decal layer? And any grit recommendations for removing the existing finish (if I need to)?

2) If there are no screw holes at all, can I use any P-pickguard designed for an import P Bass (14 screw)? I've written to Mighty Mite several times with no response. Can I use an American-style PG (13 screw)?

3) Does anyone have a good source for black cloverleaf tuners that are an exact replacement for Fender tuners? Maybe ones that weigh a little less?

Thanks, and sorry if this is not in the right forum.

3)

2. teej

teej

Aug 19, 2004
    Sheffield, AL 35660