34" scale vs. 35" scale

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GraffixNyc, Jan 12, 2005.

1. GraffixNyc

May 3, 2004
    New York City
    Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses
    I have a spector Euro 5 that's scale is 35" Now I know they do this so the low b string isn't as floopy but is there any other difference besides the inch? I hear some people say a 35" scale is harder to move around on but does that 1 inch really make a difference? Some people have said that they get tired quicker playing a 35" I stopped playing for a while. When I first was playing I was playing an 79 fender P bass but when I started playing again I moved to a 5 string and I have two spector 5 strings both 35" I'm really wondering how much difference in playablity that tiny 1 inch makes considering I hear people say they have a hard time moving around on the 35"
  2. My fretless is 35"; my 2 other main basses are 34". I thought it might be tricky going from 1 to the other, but that's not been the case. I prefer 34" because although I'm 6'2", my hands are not that big, so that extra inch in the low positions is a bit of a stretch for me.
  3. ElMon

ElMon Supporting Member

May 30, 2004
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Play a Ken Smith neckthrough or a Sadowsky and that should decide the matter. B string performance is definitely aided by extra scale length, but that is not the only solution. Proper set up and attention to detail are first in foremost IMO. Also, as to the big hands thing, check out Melvin Lee Davis' work on a Ken Smith 7 string, which is 34". Oh, and go to the Smith site and see how huge he is as well.
  4. troll

Aug 31, 2000
    Chicago area