Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

3rd bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by TonyPhilip, Oct 23, 2004.

1. TonyPhilip

TonyPhilip

Jul 30, 2003
    London UK
    I own quite a few basses: I'm fond of them all, and they each have their own particular and very different characteristics, but these differences pale beside the three different basses I play, regardless of what musical instrument is in my hands at the time. Puzzled? Let me explainÂ…

First of all, there's bass No 1. This is the bass I play on my own, in my room, either solo or along with a CD. This bass plays quite accurately, and I'm able to fret it with a delicate touch, even though I'm often playing stuff I've never tried before. The fingers of my left hand seem to glide from position to position, while those of my right hand pluck with a gentle assured touch, whatever style I choose to play. I can hear the smallest fret buzz and I cringe at the slightest mis-timing of a note, all through about 5 watts of practice amp. It shows up all my faults, yet in a curiously helpful way, and all in all, this is a satisfyingly obedient bass to play; I seldom find that it delivers less than I ask.

Bass No 2 is the bass I play when jamming or practising with the guys. This chap is an excitable little devil. For some reason it never quite gets used to the effect of others around it, and as soon as the drummer starts up it wants to get moving, and it wants to get loud. For some reason, it makes no difference how high I turn up the amp, this bass thinks it's not being played properly unless I'm almost breaking the strings. It's not a bass which appreciates the subtleties so beloved of Bass No 1, and consequently most of my long practised technique goes out of the window as soon as I start to play this fellow.