Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

4 bolt neck on a '75 Jazz?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by peabody, Apr 16, 2004.

1. peabody

peabody Supporting Member

Oct 31, 2002
    La Crosse, WI
    I'm in the market for a 70's Jazz. I came across a '75 (not a reissue) on a dealer's website. The picture shows it as having a 4 bolt neck. I love Fenders, but I have to admit I'm not an expert in their history. All the '75s I've seen (including the RI's) have had a 3 bolt neck. The dealer states that the potentiometers are dated 1974 and the neck plate SN puts it around a '75 (sn 628620). Has anyone ever come across a 4 bolt '75? I'd hate to call the dealer like some know-it-all and demand he take the neck apart when this is a common occurance. What do you think?
    ...also, if anyone has a 70's Jazz they're looking to sell...I am in the market. I do have a $1700 budget. My first choice is a natural with a rosewood neck, but I'll consider almost anything (no RI's please). Thanks for your help!!

2. '74 had 4 bolt necks and if I remember correctly some of the early '75's had 4 bolt necks as a result of some extra stuff left from '74.

Then the official switch to the 3 bolt completed.

3. peabody

Oct 31, 2002
    La Crosse, WI
    Thanks for the input. I feel better already!

4. ashbory

ashbory

Jun 13, 2000
    The Hammer
    My '75 has 4 bolts...

5. Dr.SixString

Dr.SixString

Apr 30, 2002
    My '69 jazz has 4 bolts:D
    I would sell/trade my '78 jazz (3bolts, maple neck) .

6. Brooks

Brooks

Apr 4, 2000
    Middle East
    My '75 (by serial number) has 4 bolts, thumb rest above E string and non-bullet truss rod...all pre '74 appointments. Fender used to assemble from available parts, so transition took a couple of years.

7. Dr.SixString

Dr.SixString

Apr 30, 2002