Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

4 or 5 snare???

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by S'adnach, Jun 7, 2002.

1. Hey guys,

Newbie here on the forum.. visited the tabssection more than an 100 times. Figure a lot of experienced bassplayers surf around here, so this would be a good place to ask this question:

I'm gonna buy a new bass after summer- but I am still doubting between 4 or 5 snare. In my band we have several songs using a 7-string guitar and thus a 5-snare bass, but they could easily be played on a downtuned 6-snare. A firend of ours, a real expert on recording AND basses, honestly thinks my current Status Graphite is crap. He also advises me to buy a 'normal' 4 snare bass- they seem to be in quality way better than any 5 snare. And then, preferably a Chort-bass.

How do y'all feel about 4/5 snares?? And about Chort-basses?? Do give me info please!!

2. JAUQO III-X

JAUQO III-X Banned

Jan 4, 2002
    CHICAGO,IL.
    Endorsing artist:see profile.
    Your friend sounds like he's pushing his personal opinion and if he dosn't play bass at this point it shouldn't matter.some people dont like the sound or feel of graphite but if it works for you (and me as well) that in the end is what matters keep your Status and maybe get rid of your friend for another bass :)

3. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    Man, I'm feelin' like a total idiot, but I've never heard the terms snare or Chort with regard to a bass. Please educate me.
    Doc

4. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    Me too.

My drummer has a snare. It is loud.:D

5. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    I'd chalk it up to the language difference.