4 or 5 sting

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by RedGrange, Sep 29, 2000.

1. RedGrange

Jun 11, 2000
    Springfield, IL
    I want a new toy... I am thinking either a Stingray 4 string or a G&L L-2500 or L-1505.

I am not sure which would be best for me.. I have been plaing a 4 string for 7 years, and want a 5... but everytime I try to play one it throws me off... what do y'all think?
    What do you think about my choices.
    I will probably buy a L-1505 if I go 5 string, I only like one pickup, I haven't changed the pan knob on my bass for 4 years.
  2. Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU

Well there surely are fivers and sixes you'll like,
    just like there are fourers, so perhaps you sould look into
    different basses.
  3. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Hmm....anything you can do with a 4, you can do with a 5 (or more), can the same be said in the other direction? I think not (at least not without retuning). I know that since I've been playing 6's, anything without a B is useless to me (nothing beats dropping a nice big fat LOW C at the end of a ballad in C :) ), I actually get LOST on 4's :D.

Go ahead and get a 5, play it as much as you can, and you'll adjust to the extra string (matter of fact, put your 4 in its case for a month or so, don't play it at all...). The basses you're looking at are all good choices, you can't go wrong there.
  4. timp

Jul 19, 2000
    I totally agree. A 5-string is great to have for its ability to throw a real low underline into a song. You might also want to check out the Sting Ray 5. Same awesome sound as a Sting Ray 4 with 5 extra low notes (and a great low B).