Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

4 or 5 string as a transition bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassoABD, Jan 20, 2002.

1. BassoABD

BassoABD Guest

Jan 20, 2002
    Cleveland, Ohio
    My cousin suggested I join and post this question.

I play upright, classical style, in the Cleveland area. Community orchestra stuff; I'm not a professional musician.

I want to take up bass guitar to play in a company jazz band. I wonder whether I should begin with 4 or 5 string. I borrowed a 5 string, took one lesson, and found myself confused by the extra string. It seemed the transition was easier on 4; I felt more comfortable with the 4 and could find my way around easier. It seemed I could use some of the jazz lines I'm learning and also apply them on the upright (fingering is different but the concept is the same) (my upright has a C extension, so i was use to going for lower notes on the "E" string).

But I'm being told 5 is the only way to go. I'm not sure; most of the method books only point out 4-string basses.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Arnie

2. I don't know much about how the multi-string basses fare in jazz but it seems to me that if you're more comfortable with the four stringer, then that's what you should get. There's a trend now to get a bass with as many strings as you can and if you can make it work for you, then that's great, but there are still many players who swear by the four string bass. (Mostly by repeating endlessly that Jaco played a four). :D

I have a four stringer, I'm very comfortable with that and while I've tried five and six string basses I don't rightly know what to do with the extra strings. Not yet anyway. Go with what feels right, become comfortably numb. :p

And don't forget: Jaco played a four string bass!

Oh, and welcome to talkbass.

3. BassoABD

BassoABD Guest

Jan 20, 2002
    Cleveland, Ohio