Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

4 or 5 String for Beginner?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bdengler, Oct 31, 2001.

1. bdengler

bdengler

Jan 23, 2000
    New Albany, Ohio
    I've been playing an upright for 10 years, mainly classical music with arco and some pizz at church. The music director at church would like me to play bass guitar on some contemporary pieces. So, I need to get an ax and learn how to play it. I'm wondering if I should start off with a 4 or 5 string? (I did a search and couldn't find any previous postings on the subject). Thanks for your help on this.

:confused:

2. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    If you have been playing upright for 10 years, there shouldn't be a dexterity issue. It is a matter of choice.

I played for 13 years before switching to five string. The reason: Christian contemporary.

Praise and worship has to be played in keys that most people can sing, so depending on the piece, you will often find yourself playing in Ab, or Eb, or F or Bb. You never really know. You also will modulate and key change a lot. And pull it all off while site-reading a chart that you may have seen for the first time only an hour ago.

I really struggle to pull this off well on a four string.

I have found that the easiest way for me to do it, is to play the progressions out of classical positions. That way a key change just means move to the next anchor position and repeat the pattern. By doing this with a five, I can pull off the Eb to F changes and D to E, etc and avoid the second register if I choose.

It works well for me.

I couldn't live without my fiver.

Chas

3. neptoon

neptoon

Jul 25, 2000
    summerville, sc
    there's nothing you can do on a four that can't be done on a five...or a six, for that mtter....or a seven :eek: