Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

4 or 5 string?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by spuds, Mar 10, 2005.

1. spuds

spuds

Mar 10, 2005
    Hi.
    I've been playing guitar for about 8 years and i've decided to make a switch to bass. Half a year ago, i walked into a guitar store and pretty much bought the cheapest 4 string bass I could find, just to get used to the feel of it.

Now I'm ready to put more money in and get a decent bass but I can't quite decide between a 4 and 5 string. I'm so used to 4 string basses, and 5 string basses feel quite strange whenever I play them (Especially the thumb muting issue). However, I guess the extra range could come in useful.

I'm hoping you experienced players could help me out. How useful is that extra string?? Or does it just get in the way most of the time? I've also heard that it makes slapping a bit of an issue.

Thanks so much.

2. It depends on what type of music you play, if you find yourself downtuning alot, I would say go with a 5-String, thats why I bought my second bass, I didn't have to much trouble adjusting to the extra string, it makes it easier then changing tunnings. It's only 5 extra notes, if you feel uncomfortable with one, don't buy one, its all personal preference, I do not have much trouble slaping either

3. spuds

spuds

Mar 10, 2005
    Cool, thanks for your advice.

4. Hofbrauhaus

Hofbrauhaus

Feb 10, 2002
    Upton, MA