4 String vs. 5 String

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jbasser206, Jul 31, 2002.

1. jbasser206

Jul 31, 2002
    Western NY
    I am considering adding a 5 string to my collection. I have played 4 strings for 30 years now. Is the switch tough to make? is it confussing? and can I work back and forth from 4-5 without screwing myself up??
  2. Skavenger

May 26, 2002
    Of course you can. I switched from 4 to 5-string two years ago and I haven't had any problems switching between the two types of basses. If you know your four stringer good, the jump isn't going to be that huge. Also, I think you get more room for creativity when playing a fiver. Good luck-
  3. BigBohn

Sep 29, 2001
    WPB, Florida
    You'll either hate it or love it. Because at that amount of time sticking to 4-string, theres no in-between. Chances are you'll love it.
  4. Jerry, Jr.

Jerry, Jr.

Jun 7, 2002
    Boston, MA
    Hey jbasser. I've been playing bass for 16 years now. I got my first 5 string bass back in February. The main reason why I bought it was because I had just joined my current band and one of the songs they wrote had originally been played on a 5 string. It just didn't sound the same without the low B string. Prior to that I had never given much thought to going to 5 strings.

Anyhow, I like playing a 5 string but, still prefer the traditional 4 string basses. So, I switch back and forth between 4 and 5 strings now. I have not found it to be difficult at all.
  5. Hi:
    I'm a recent convert. Played 4's for 10yrs and in March bought a 5 string. The transition is fairly smooth, w/ a few caveats which still occasionall show up.