1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

4 string witha low b?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by 1Drop, Jul 24, 2012.

1. 1Drop

1Drop

Jul 31, 2009
    Hi guys, I'm currently shopping for a new bass. Ive been playing a wick corvette fna jazzman 5 er for about 15 years now, its time for a change. My requirements are 17mm spacing and 5 strings, but it occured to me that I rarely spend anytime on my g string. I see a lot of 4 string basses I like except for the lack of that low b. I've never really heard of anyone string a 4 bangor BEAD but is it an option? Any negatives?

2. I am trying that trick on my frankenfretless. I'm lost without a b string since I switched my main bass to a five string, but with the B tuned four, I am constantly going for the G string, and falling off the edge.

Good luck, but I'm holding out for a 5 string Pbass to match my J.

Good gigging!

3. lbanks

lbanks

Jul 17, 2003
    Ennui, IN USA
    Sure done that to a Jazz. And it does take a bit of adjusting. And sometimes I have to use a fiver for some tunes. But if I play long sets, the neck on the Jazz helps with dealing with the arthritis pain.

4. Wallace320

Wallace320 Commercial User

Mar 19, 2012
    Milan, Italy
    Think: the former Ibanez ATK Paul Gray (R.I.P.) from Slipknot was strung B, E, A, D infact the acemen in the band, Mick Thompson & Jim Root play baritone 6ers strung B, E, A, D, F, B

Anyway the original Paul Gray signature, not present memorial one, was an ATK with factory TripleCoil humbucker and a slim and thinner neck than usual "satin Precision" alike ATK necks.
    View attachment 279787
    This is mainly because the tension on B, E, A, D sets on sale is not only equal but in some cases lighter than E, A, D, G sets
    (check rotosound swing66 of both B, E, A, D & E, A, D, G out)