1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

4x10 & 1x15 or 8x10?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MR.ATK, Dec 8, 2006.

1. MR.ATK

MR.ATK

Jan 6, 2006
    so yess the title pretty much somes it up... i'm running a trace elliot 1048 4x10 cab and a ah500-12 head... now the cab is 8ohms head is 4ohms.. so i know i need another cab.. so my question for people who have expierence what sounds better two 4x10 cabs? or a 4x10 and 1x15? i'm debating which i should get.. i like lowww lows...but clean cut throughness as well... any advice please help!! i'm a newb :bag:

2. neatobassman

neatobassman

Jul 16, 2005
    Antelope CA
    2x12 maybe? Go test some cabs out and see what you like

3. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    I'd go with another 4x10. When you have that many 10's you have enough lows.

4. MR.ATK

MR.ATK

Jan 6, 2006
    chaos.. do you run your 4x10 and 2x12 together?

5. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    I do. It's a cool setup and gets the job done, but I'd be happier with another 4x10. The Mesa 4x10's are sick.

6. MR.ATK

MR.ATK

Jan 6, 2006
    i orig, wanted the eden xlt 4x10 :p that thing pounds, but once i played through this old school 1048h.. oooooo man the trace deeps come through.. just weighs a ton!!

7. I tend to not like 10"s. I go with 12"s but then I usually only use one cab. Pair some 10"s with a 15" or maybe an 18" and you'll get the full range.

Happy hunting.

Cheer

8. MR.ATK

MR.ATK

Jan 6, 2006
    thanks lord! ;)

9. I use 10s and 15s and it works well

However, for a rock band, an 810 just sits perfectly in the mix IMHO

10. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Gold Supporting Member