4x10 vs. 1 or 2x15?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Peterthom, Nov 23, 2004.

1. Peterthom

Nov 23, 2004
    Portland, OR
    Hi Gang, Newbie here.
    My neighbor is ready to upgrade his bass rig. He has a 200w newer model Fender Bassman combo with 1x15 that is about dead. He is looking at a GK 4x10 cab, but is afraid that 10" speakers won't give him the bottom end he wants.
    What is the general opinion on 15" speakers vs a 4x10's?
    Will he get the Boom Boom that he wants for playing STP and Ozzy?
  2. softscrubmonkey

Nov 19, 2004
    St. Louis
    well im a bit of a newbie too but ive got a an ampeg SVT 410HLF cab. its 4x10 with a porting at the bottom which gets HUGE bottom end. it makes a huge difference than playing with a normal 4x10. im not saying you have to go ampeg just if you like 4x10 but want low end then find a 4x10 with porting.
  3. I own a Gallien-Krueger 4x10 and a Galien-Krueger Neo212. If he wants low end tell him to check out the GK Neo2x12. AMAZING cab. It handles my 5 with ease.
  4. Peterthom

Nov 23, 2004
    Portland, OR
    Thanks for the fast advice gang. I like the idea of the ported cab.
  5. Ozzyman

Jul 21, 2004
    If you like the sound of GK's then I would highly recommend their Neo212 or Neo412 (if you have spare $$$)
    Some 15" have great punchiness but in my experience most 15"s alone won't cut through well enough in a rock band situation with heavy guitars.
    If you guitarists play with alot of mids then get a boomier cab like a 15" but 12" speakers are a great compromise, IMHO.
  6. travatron4000

Dec 27, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    also, search, there are pages upon pages on this subject here in talkbass

7. Also, check out the Avatar vented cabs. These are in order of most low end first:
    4 x 10 Pro
    4 x 10 Neo
    4 x 10 Delta
    Very good reviews on Harmony Central.
    I have a 1 x 15 Avatar with a horn and really like it.

8. amper

Dec 4, 2002