1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

5 string bass string spacing

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by ps10black, Jul 21, 2012.

1. ps10black

ps10black

Jul 21, 2012
    Hi first post here, and yup its a question, apologies in advance

I am an Aussie Luthier mostly guitars but the occasional Bass, so far though they have always been 4 string, anyway I just completed a couple of la Cabronita styled Thinline Tele basses, and holy **** they where just so much fun.

So now I have some bass building issues going on... Gotta build more!

Anyway I designed A Dinky P Bass with 24 frets and I have had templates cnc'd by A mate but I also saw this amazing quilt Jazz bass on Warmoths site so I also have areal hankering to build a Jazz as well But I would like to use the templates for the neck etc from the 24 fret Dinky P Bass and make a 24 fret Dinky Jazz but I would like the Jazz to be 5 string.

I have found some Schaller BAss bridges that come down to the appropriate width thatI need 63 -65mm and keeping the strings constantly spaced about 3.8mm from the fretboard edge leaves me with around 8 -9mm string spacing at the nut and around 16-17mm centre to centre at the bridge.

So I guess My question is seeing I am not really a bass player what do the real bass players out there think of this string spread, at the nut its very similar to My prestige SR but the bridge spacing center to centre on the stings is much tighter on the proposed 5 string Jazz.

Any thoughts?

Sorry for the long post

Lee

2. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

16-17 mm at the bridge is pretty narrow. It depends on what you expect the bass to be used for. That narrow would make for pretty quick fingerstyle or pick playing; but I'd say it would make slap difficult.

3. ctmullins