Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

5 String Bass, tuned ADADG? Right?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by PollyBass, Jul 18, 2001.

1. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA
    Ok, im fixing to get a five string. our band tunes to Drop D. What tuning would i use on the B string? A? And i have to have the open D for faster riffs. im new to the 5 string. Thanks.

2. lo-end

lo-end

Jun 15, 2001
    PA
    actually, I dont have a five string, but Im very close to having the 1600 some-odd dollars for a Stingray5. Here goes anyway...

The standard tuning for a 5 stringer is B-E-A-D-G, but for you, I would recommend that you tune A-D-A-D-G which would give you three advantages:
    1. You would get down to low A.
    2. You would have the open D string you said you want.
    3. You would have 2 sets of open octaves, which could be very useful.

you could also experiment with other tunings if you want to, but thats my best suggestion. I just hope you have a good enough amp to really hear that low A.

3. lo-end

lo-end

Jun 15, 2001
    PA
    I forgot to mention one other thing...

someone mentioned that they tuned their 5 string D-E-A-D-G because they didnt like the fact that their B string was too floppy. You could also tune B-D-A-D-G so you'd still have the open D. You probably dont wanna tune that B string down to an A unless you either: dont have a problem with how floppy its gonna be, have a good amp so it will have enough punch and definition instead of just toneless bass, and have a heavy enough gauge on that fifth string (like 130) You will probably need to have higher action too so it doesnt crash on the frets when you pluck that loose string.