1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

5-string bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Stagnation, Apr 17, 2010.

1. Stagnation

Stagnation

Feb 14, 2010
    London
    I'm a beginner bassist looking to get a 5 string bass for a lowish price, any reccommendations? I was thinking about a washburn T25, but after reading some reviews and poking around on this site I'm not entirely sure..

2. ShenmueTacos

ShenmueTacos

May 22, 2009
    Virginia
  3. MadsDK

MadsDK

Apr 1, 2010
    Denmark
    I'd definitely say Yamaha RBX375.
    I bought mine for about 2295 DKR (about 420$), when I was looking for my first 5 string, and I chose it over two more expensive basses because of its playability and sound:).

4. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I Grow Organic Carrots
    Ibanez

5. makanudo

makanudo

Dec 26, 2008
    Ibanez Sr505

6. Beginner Bass

Beginner Bass

Jul 8, 2009
    Round Rock, TX
    A&R, Soulless Corporation Records
    I will be the first to say this: SX. I have one of these. They're great for the money.

7. themurm523

themurm523

Mar 1, 2010
    i have a fender jazz 5 MIM in sunburst im trying to sell how cheap are you looking?

8. Gord_oh

Gord_oh Midtown Guitars Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2008
    Michigan
    ibanez 105ex.
    awesome 5er, good price too.
    it has a thinner neck than most 5 strings ive played.
    easy transition from a 4 string. it was my first 5 string and my only one right now.

havent played an SX 5er, but at the price point and from what i know about their 4 strings id love to try one out. i love the look of a 5 string jazz bass.

IMO, squier and fender 5ers have really chunky necks, not my thing. but some people really like them.

9. Stagnation

Stagnation

Feb 14, 2010
    London