5 string fret buzz

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by 50watts, Jan 18, 2002.

1. 50watts

Jan 18, 2002
    hello all
    i'm new to this
    so thanks in advance

i have recently purchased an epiphone eb-3 5 string

it's straight from the musicians friend warehouse

nothing upgraded

i am getting a ton of buzz from the low b and moderate buzz from the other 4

none buzz when open
    buzz up to the 5th fret or so
    and gradually lose the buzz as you go up the board

the strings are whatever round wounds come from te factory

is this a bridge issue
    or a truss rod issue (the neck is dead straight)

any help would be greatly appreciated
  2. I guess it's the truss rod. The neck should be slightly bowed.
  3. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    This may help you find and correct your problem. If it is a problem with your necks relief. But we dont really know if our relief if good or not just by looking. Just eyeing the fretboard to see if its right is a bad way to guesstimate if you have a problem. The strings and frets create an optical illusion when you site up the neck (unless of course there is a severe or very noticable bow in it)

I couldnt get the link to work, so I cut and pasted instead.

Basic Tools

• 6" ruler with 1/8", 1/16", 1/32", and 1/64" increments
    • A large quick-release capo, such as a Kyser
    • Feeler gauge with a range including .010"-.025" (available at auto parts stores)
    • Allen wrenches in metric and standard measurements
    • Small flathead and phillips-head screwdriver set
    • Tuner

Specialized Tools
    • Radius gauges (check fingerboard curvature)
    • Straightedges of various lengths
    • Multimeter (checks for ground continuity and pickup output)
    • Caliper (measures thickness)