1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

5 String fretless with Ebony fretboard for under $500

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tonylevinkix, Aug 26, 2012.

1. tonylevinkix

tonylevinkix

Sep 24, 2010
    O.K. Experts, geniuses and know-it-alls, I am jonesing for fretless 5 string. I've been playing bass for roughly 30 years. I went to my local guitar center and tried Ibanezs, Fenders, & Schecter; no offense to you rosewood guys but it's been a few years since I've played a rosewood fretboard and I didn't realize how much I hated them. My 4 string fretted is a P-bass type with maple fretboard and I love it. My 4 string fretless has a Carvin Ebony fretboard and I love it, I just want to broaden my horizons with a 5 or 6. I also found Ibanez strings were a little too close together for my taste. Both Fender and the Schecter had this ugly, annoying popping noise on the attack (maybe my style of playing but I never had this problem with my bass). I realize the bass on the rack is not set up well and probably has cheap strings but this was an eye-opening experience. I ebay bid on a Cort Curbow 5 string fretless with an "Ebonol" fretboard but didn't want to go over $250 and lost. I've almost decided to just buy an active, 5 string kit off of Carvin but that comes to $600. So, do you guys have any suggestions for a 5 string fretless with ebony fretboard for less than $500. Take it from me, on fretless, once you go ebony, you'll never go back to rosewood.

2. bassbenj

bassbenj

Aug 11, 2009
    Sure I can tell you. How good are your luthier/wood skills?

I just finished one of mine. It's an SX ursa 5er. I bought it fretted and then bought a maple fretless neck for it too. But the fretless neck was a nightmare. (wavey due to block inserts)