Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

5 String Help/Recommendation

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mikeluch, Mar 9, 2006.

1. mikeluch

mikeluch Gold Supporting Member

Nov 30, 2004
    Ocala, FL
    I am looking for some help in acquiring a 5 string bass.
    I have been playing 4 strings on and off for 30 years, but am looking to get a 5 string.
    I presently play a Ric 4003, Lakland 4-94, Fender Precision MIA, G&l ASAT, G&l L2K and an ESP B-404.
    I would like a good quality 5 string bass to help me decide if I want to move to 5 strings as the feature instrument.
    My issue is that I don't want to spend in the area of the 4-94 lakeland, but am willing to go to the $750-$1000 range.
    I am leaning toward Fender and Lakland skyline, but have read good thinks about Ernie Ball.
    I play mostly classic and newer adult rock.
    HELP!!!!!
    Suggestions would be appreciated!!!

2. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY
    This guys is selling a really sharp Lakland 55-01 for $600: http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=233059

Also, you can find a used carvin 5 string in your price range or less easily. You can't beat the quality of carvin in their price range if you ask me.

3. tombowlus

tombowlus If it sounds good, it is good Gold Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2003
    North central Ohio
    Editor-in-Chief, Bass Gear Magazine
    The Lakland Skylines are really great, and my preference within that line are the "Signature" models, either Darryl Jones or Joe Osborne (I don't think that the Glaub comes in a 5). But the new two-pickup Stingrays are pretty darn cool, too (though perhaps just out of your price range). You are also flirting with what you can a used "botique" 5-string for. For instance, a Rick Turner EL-535 is a ton of bass for the money on the used market.

4. mikeluch

Nov 30, 2004
    Ocala, FL