1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

5-string muting

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by matt11, Dec 8, 2006.

1. matt11

matt11 Supporting Member

May 19, 2006
    Montreal
    Hi, I've been playing a 5-string off and on for about six months now, and am gradually getting more comfortable with it. But I'm still having some difficulty keeping the strings I am not playing quiet (i.e. either the open b or the open e resonating with other strings is a problem). It's something I never have to think about at all on my 4-stringers because it's become intuitive. On the five, it's not really a problem live, but it's a bit frustrating when recording. At the moment I'm trying anchoring my thumb on the e when not playing it and angling it back onto the b to keep both quiet, or else thumb on b and third finger resting on e when not playing it (quite the stretch for index and second finger to g string). Any tips?

2. VanillaO

VanillaO Poop?

Oct 14, 2006
    Toronto, Canada
    Mute with your fretting hand... or is that not an option?

3. Demon

Demon

Mar 17, 2006
    Sweden, Stockholm
    Use the floating thumb technique. Keep the thumb floating on the strings your not playing. So like, when you play the A string, the thumb should be like resting on top of the E and B string, and then when you go to the D string, your thumb follows and now covers e,b, and the a string:) Does that make sense?^^

4. Orco87

Orco87

Mar 26, 2000
    Texas
    to be honest I sometimes have the same kind of difficulty... I find that on my right hand, I do my best to either do the floating thumb technique (muting the string above) or on w/e string I'm using the fingers with, I make sure I do my best to not hit the string above. I can work w/ the floating thumb better though....

5. matt11

matt11 Supporting Member

May 19, 2006
    Montreal