5 string necks similar in feel to Lakland’s? Sadowsky’s?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jazz4Me, Jun 19, 2021.

1. Jazz4Me

Jazz4Me Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2018
    Central Illinois
    I’ve been playing a Lakland 55-02 for the past 8 months and love it and I’ve got a Lakland USA 55-94 on order. I’ve been wondering if the are any other brands that a similar profile neck. Specifically interested in, besides the different nut sizes, how a Sadowsky 5 string neck compares to the Lakland.

Any insights that can provided would be much appreciated until I get a chance to travel the several hours needed to put my hands on one. Or am I better off staying exclusively with the Lakland neck?

2. Lesfunk

Lesfunk Bootlegger guitars : S.I.T. Strings Supporting Member

Apr 5, 2007
    Florida USA
    Xotic XJ-1T have nice slim neck profile

3. cxcxcx

cxcxcx

Mar 8, 2019
    A Sadowsky 5 is a little wider and hefty than a typical Lakland 5 string neck. I’ve owned examples of both. The Sadowsky is not uncomfortable, but there is a difference. I prefer the Lakland neck a little bit more for comfort and speedier playing, but I play the Sadowsky for the sound.

Lakland doesn’t get everything right, but their typical 5 string neck carve is a wonder to behold. If you really like Lakland necks, you may have found home and should consider just sticking with them. In many cases, the grass is not greener on the other side.

4. Jazz4Me

Jan 21, 2018
    Central Illinois
    Yeah, That's kind of where I'm leaning. I took a chance on the 55-02 and it's the first 5 string I've bonded with. Not sure I'd want to take a chance on another brand without putting my hands on it first. I was pleasantly surprised when Lakland told me all their 5 string necks were interchangeable (except, perhaps, for the DJ-5).

I could certainly be happy with just Lakland in my current situation. Maybe I'll buy a Sadowsky Archtop rather than a bass.

cxcxcx likes this.
  5. lowdownthump

lowdownthump