5 string question

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by teenagebass69, Jan 19, 2004.

1. im a bassist in a classic rock band and im looking to get a five string. I know most people tune it to B-E-A-D-G but im thinking of tuning it to E-A-D-G-C. What are the pros and cons of tuning a 5 string that way and how do u buy strings like that?
  2. Introvox

May 21, 2001
    Ontario, Canada
    5 String (Tuned Normal)
    -access down to a B, (having the D is really nice I find)

-you can buy 5 String sets in most brandnames (easier access)

5 String EADGC Tuning
    -access to higher notes than a usual 5 String

-not sure if any companies sell a set for that tuning so you will forever be buying 1 string extra, and sometimes you may have a different brand or guage for the C string, which will be a little easier to break

-you may have to adjust your neck tension & intonation, but no big wup!

-you may piss off the Gtr players for walking into their range (hehehe - so what!)

I'd try it as normal tuning for the convenience and to see if you like it, unless of course you NEED the higher notes, then by all means... there are guys out there doin it - so why not
  3. One of the pros of the EADGC tuning, is that the high C is easier to make sound good than a low B. I mean.. Commonly, the low B on average basses sounds weak if they're not 35" scale or their necks are pretty well made. If you´re willing to tune a bass EADGC, you dont have to worry about that matter, and get any nice fiver you can afford.
  4. Asaf

Jun 9, 2003
    i have a cheap argentinan made 5 string, and the b-string is really tight although it's a 34" scale.

and about the tuning, i think it's a matter of taste. i love the low B, and the G string on my bass sounds clear and high more then in a standerd 4 string or other 5 string basses - and that's why i bought this bass, it has low tones and high tones so ican play more solo high tones stuff and chords.

EADGC tuning :