1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

5 string versatile bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by harley_ou812, Nov 28, 2006.

1. I have become reinspired in my bass playing and my music playing in general. When I started playing bass I started on a 5 string. At some point I decided I wanted a ric. In doing so I decided I was a 4 string player. I sold all my 5 strings and bought 4 strings. I have picked up a few 5 stringers recently and realise they are where I am most comfortable. That being said I am looking for a new 5 stringer and came here for opinions. Before I state any of my criteria for what I would like let me begin by saying as of right now the 2 that are sticking out most at me are the Peavey Cirrus or an EB Bongo.

I would like a versatile bass. I am definatly leanign towards active for EQ benefits. I want something I can set up with very Low action. and i would like something that I can really bring out harmonics with. I know some basses harmonics dont pic up very well do to pickup placement. I want a bass I can give me good slap and fingerstyle tones. As for the neck I definatly prefer a thinner neck then a bassball neck.

Any suggestions on basses for me to hunt out and try would be greatly appreciated.

2. Double Agent

Double Agent

Mar 10, 2006
    Lakeland, FL
    I am a Dingwall fanatic and recommend everyone to try an Afterburner I. However, for what you are describing I think the Bongo would work better than the Cirrus and almost any other bass I can think of. The two Bongo's I have played had crazy low action and they are very versatile. If I were you I would get a Bongo HH, the single coil isn't as hot as the humbuckers in the HS models so you can't really solo the neck pickup on the HS. A Lakland 55-02 is also very worth trying. Happy hunting!

3. guy n. cognito

guy n. cognito Secret Agent Member Gold Supporting Member