1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

50 ways to leave your band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by scottfeldstein, Jan 13, 2012.

1. scottfeldstein

scottfeldstein Supporting Member

Jun 20, 2011
    West Bend, Wisconsin
    I hate that this is so drama queeny, but I could use some advice or some encouragement or something. I'm in a band that I want to quit, but it's the pet project of an old friend.

Background. I'm 43, just got back into music six months ago after a 10 year absence. He's 30, been trying to make a band really go for a while. As soon as I bought a bass he called me up and asked me to be in his band.

After a long struggle for members, he finally has a drummer, a keyboard player and me. No vocalist. And about a dozen original songs.

I've been rehearsing with him for six months. I even kicked in money for one of the rehearsal spots we were using for a while. But the project is going pretty much nowhere without a vocalist. There are no gigs without one and his efforts to recruit someone have been pretty fruitless.

Now he wants me to rehearse Tuesday nights and also Saturday mornings. He believes "what we need" is to "get tighter." Or something. I told him what we really need is to record some of this music so it can be used to recruit a higher calibre of talent in a vocalist than the first-timers who've been showing up.

Anyway, it's all moot now because I just want out. I have another very exciting music project going on--one where I like the music better and which requires me to show up for rehearsal only twice a month.