6 string bass strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Juniorkimbrough, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Juniorkimbrough

Mar 22, 2005
    Mississippi / Memphis, TN
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland Basses
    anyone have any recommendations?

I just got my first 6 string and have always previously played 4 bangers, so I have no experience with low B's and high C's.

I'm looking for some higher tension strings.

2. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    I use GHS. They were in a blue package. They're great-- really bright.
  3. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    Sure you want high tension?

Smith Rock Masters, seem hard to me, very high tension with a lot of bottom (i believe.. too much bottom)

Fodera´s are high tension. Most stainless steel strings with heavy guage core are high tension.

What I would recommend, are La Bella´s Hard Rocking Steel, but they are not high tension, they are medium, but sound delicious.
  4. Juniorkimbrough

Mar 22, 2005
    Mississippi / Memphis, TN
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland Basses
    I just prefer higher tension strings because I play kinda hard.

Thanks for the suggestions!
  5. I use the Fodera Diamond Series.. They arent bad but pretty expensive around here if they are store bought.
  6. Le Basseur

Le Basseur

Mar 26, 2002
    +1 on Foderas! :hyper:
  7. emjazz

emjazz Supporting Member

Feb 23, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Yeah, I'm gonna go back and try the Fodera's again. I used to use them but the quality wasn't consistent in the beginning. It was only one person making them when they first came out. I liked them though. To those that use them, do you get the set with a tapered B string or without?