Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

6 String Newbie Needs Help IF Possible

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by J-beginner-UK, Jan 14, 2005.

1. J-beginner-UK

J-beginner-UK

Jan 12, 2005
    HI all
    I am a new bass player (at the age of 38) never owned or touched an instrument before,and I have no musical knowledge what so ever, but I am prepared to learn. And due to a disability, I have to give up my choosen Hobby, so I need to find something else to keep the old grey matter going, cos I dont want to get brain dead watching soaps.

Anyway I have an option an a Yahama Patitucci 6 string bass for $600 (£490/£520 UK pounds sterling), so would this be a good buy for an absolute novice.

Secondly how easy is it learn the 6 string bass, eventhough that I had found out that you only have about 10 extra notes.

Thirdly, is there chart shows each note played at each fret? and the standard tuning for it? if so where can i get one from, but bear in mind I am in the UK.

Any help would be gratefully received.

Please email me at my personal address and I will reply to them all.

Many thanks in Advance

J#

2. You know, a username like that isn't going to grow with you. :)

I think you need to try a few basses and find out what you really want from your chosen bass. As it happens, I realised I wanted more than the standard 4 strings, and my first bass was a Yamaha TRB-6. I still have and play it as my #1.

I don't think you will have any trouble reselling a Patitucci model for that price anyway, as long as it is in good condition. If you decide not to take it, I will! :)

3. Juneau

Juneau

Jul 15, 2004
    Dallas, TX.
    Just a quick rundown so you dont need a chart...

There are twelve musical notes:
    # = sharp a half step
    b = flat a half step

A, A#/Bb, B, C, C#/Db, D, D#/Eb, E, F, F#/Gb, G, and G#/Ab