Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

$600

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rusmannx, Jul 16, 2001.

1. rusmannx

rusmannx

Jul 16, 2001
    i need somethinig good without all the frills. i've been playing for a couple years on a piece of crap, and i can't afford anything extrememly expensive. i don't play anything off the wall so anything middle-of-the-road would be good..... any suggestions?

2. If you need a new bass, check out MIM Fender Deluxe Jazz, or maybe see about a P-bass Lyte or Lyte Deluxe. You could also probably find a MIA P for that price. If you're willing to go used, you can get a much better bass for the money. I've seen some pretty nice Warwick 4s go for a lot less than than $1000 on Ebay, and I got a Streamer Standard 5 for $605.

3. istaticl

istaticl

Nov 29, 2000
    Prescott, AZ
    I' gonna second the MIM Deluxe Jazz. I had a squire for a while then I upgraded to this bass and I love it. Its a great bass and its pretty cheap as well, I got mine for $400.

4. I strongly recommend picking up an Ibanez BTB405. For $600, it's tough to beat.

5. BigJH

BigJH

Jan 20, 2001
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    A DP custom five goes for aroung $600. But you might want to check out MTD or Fender like everyone said.

6. See if you can get a gently used Reverend Rumblefish. I just put roundwounds back on mine and rediscovered what a snarling beast it is. Best neck I've ever played, too.

7. td1368

td1368

Jan 9, 2001
    Philadelphia
    I'll second the BTB. I played it at guitar center and got hooked. I'm saving for the 5 string now.
    I think it runs for about $519.

8. jrich

jrich

Jul 10, 2001
    Chicago, IL