1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

72 Fender P Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by colindbgolf, Feb 27, 2013.

1. colindbgolf

colindbgolf Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2007
    Rochester NY
    I am itching for this bass. It's at a local music shop. I've played on it and like the feel. It's been refinished (looks like a long time ago), non original pickguard and pots, original pups, and a badass bridge. Also light as a feather. Asking price is $1500. There could potentially be some wiggle room... but is it worth it? and would it last as an investment?

2. colindbgolf

colindbgolf Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2007
    Rochester NY
    here's the pics

Attached Files:

3. I thought the thumb rest got moved into the thumb position in the 60's.

I could be wrong though, I'm not an expert by any means. I'm sure any second a know-all Fender guy will come and help you out.

Either way, it's a beautiful bass.

4. Thats not a horrible deal, but its really a players bass now. Thats a price thats workable with, I got a all original but beat '74 last year for $1350-I got a good deal though. A 1972 is worth more then a '74, but a refin really kills value. I would say $12-1300 tops if you really love it.

5. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Looks like an A width neck, which is rare.

Id pay the price if it feels great.

Looks awesome. One of my favorite color schemes.

6. Nope, 1974.

7. I bought a natural refin, Badassed early 1976 last fall for $1150, but it also had replacement pups (and pg) and of course it was a later model than the more valuable '72. I think I probably paid a little too much, but I like the bass. So I'd say the price on the '72 may be pretty close to right.

8. Buy it. Post tons of pictures. Know that it will make me happy.

9. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA