Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

75 P-bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Coutts_is_god, Dec 29, 2003.

1. Coutts_is_god

Coutts_is_god Guest

Dec 29, 2003
    Windsor, Ont, Canada
    Hi I'm new. I've been playing for closer to 2 years. I'm Okay, I play a squire P-bass. I know.

Anyway My friends dad is selling his 75 fender P-bass. He wants me to buy cause he knows I'll never put it down. But he's selling it for $2 000 Canadian:spit: .Is that alot or is it just me?

2. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Owner, Looperlative Audio Products
    Unless the exchange rates have gotten out of hand, I'd say that is way too much. Admittedly 70s P basses have gone through the roof, but still you should be able to find a 75 for around US$1000.

3. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Just a bit on the high side. Crazy Canadians!!! :p

4. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Too pricey. If you realy wanted a P bass you could get a used American for $600 -700.

5. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Correct.

6. Exactly!

Here's one going for $1099.00 USD.

The pup has been replaced though.

He does have some nice Vintage Fender basses though!

http://www.williesguitars.com/Pages/Bass.html

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Treena

7. rumblethump

rumblethump Supporting Member

Mar 25, 2000
    Pioneer CA. 95666
    Also be aware that period of mid to late 70 P basses are some of the heaviest ever made. My shoulder hurts just thinking about them.

8. Coutts_is_god

Coutts_is_god Guest

Dec 29, 2003
    Windsor, Ont, Canada
    Yeah I like heavier basses. Some newer ones I've played feel like little toys.

9. Willie's is quite the shop, Treena...lots of beautiful vintage guitars and basses.

10. Scott D

Scott D

Apr 21, 2003
    Minneapolis, MN