8 eggs a day!? is that ok? gym guys help me!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by thehangingmist, Apr 21, 2010.

1. so i just joined the gym and am trying to gain some weight. am a little guy though, just 5'6" right now i weight around 58kg but i want to get some more mass and more muscle. so the gym instructor recommends that i have 8 eggs a day 4 without the yellow (along with other things like milk and fruits). now am wondering if it is way too much and would it play havoc with my body systems, etc or its really ok??

2. guroove

guroove

Oct 13, 2009
    Buffalo, NY
    It sounds ok to me since you are eating 4 without the yolks, but I am no doctor. I don't think there is anything wrong with eating egg whites. You could eat a whole dozen egg whites and it wouldn't cause any problems beyond maybe digestive difficulties or bad gas.

3. TalkBass Sponsor

4. buzzbass

buzzbass Shoo Shoo Retarded Flu !

Apr 23, 2003
    NJ
    that's fine. try and eat that amount 2x a day.

5. guroove

guroove

Oct 13, 2009
    Buffalo, NY
    If it's weight gain you're after, there's nothing like donuts, pancakes, and lots of sleep.

6. odin70

odin70

Dec 26, 2007
    TB is also good for weight gain

7. really!? its really hot here +40C wont that give me oily pimples on my face and crap!?:p

8. am trying to avoid the "bad" fats which are high in cholesterol and all. anyway doughnuts and pancakes are'nt regular stuff here and most places have them expensive and stale and yuck heh though i get what you mean

true! but am spending a lot of my time playing and learning now

9. Egg whites are excellent for you. They contain omega-3 fatty acids and all sorts of other wonderful things for your body. The yolk is where most of the cholesterol lives. I think they offered you a good plan and you shouldn't have any ill effects from it other than eventually getting tired of eatting so many eggs. Try and mix it up; scrambled, poached, hard boiled, omelette, etc.