1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

$80 bass w/ original HSC

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by LowNloud1, Mar 15, 2018.

Tags:
  1. LowNloud1

LowNloud1 Commercial User

Jun 11, 2012
    Wilmington NC
    I am a hobbyist making stone picks that I occasionally sell but mostly give away. They made me do this anyways.
    Bought a Hondo Professional bass dating back to the early 80's.

I did watch a couple YouTube videos before I bought it. It comes from an era where Asian guitar manufacturers were upping the quality of their products. Country of origin is either Japan or Korea.

This one supposedly has DiMarzio pups, a 3-ply solid maple neck and what I believe is a maple body. I removed the neck from the body an saw it was a solid body. From the hardness, color and weight of the wood and guitar (10.25 lbs.), I'm going with a solid maple body. The tone is great. I love maple necks and the tone is nice and bright. Great sustain and a nice feel to the neck. Frets are very lightly worn. A bit of dive but that doe not really bother me all that much. Reminds me of my Gibson G3.

My only negative is the saddle height on the A & D strings. The saddle height does not follow the neck contour and, as a result, the A & D are a little bit higher than I would like. I have decided not to mess with them because I don't want to fix what ain't broke and potentially cause a buzz problem.

I did raise the pole pieces under the A & D to compensate and I am happy with the results.

The previous, original owner played it in church so it is in great shape for its age!

Attached Files:

fretter, Warhawk, Bass V and 2 others like this.
  2. Oren Hudson

Oren Hudson

Dec 25, 2007
    Gastonia, NC