Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

94 modulus...one more time

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BASSNUTTT, Mar 1, 2006.

1. BASSNUTTT

BASSNUTTT

Feb 26, 2006
    MN
    I havent heard of anyone that knows for sure what model bass this is.....Anyone?????Bueller????:help: :help: :help: :bassist:

Attached Files:

2. pickles

pickles Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    Based on a quantum obviously ... but with a pickguard looks like some version of the M92. The version of that I remember had a sweet spot humbucker rather than the Js.

Looks cool whatever its called! Maybe its an "M94"?

3. mbrain

mbrain

Feb 20, 2006
    I'm no Modulus expert, but I think Pickles is right--it looks like an old Quantum Sweetspot (comes with a single pick-up) that someone carved up a bit, turned into a jazz, and slapped on a pickguard to hide their handiwork. How else to explain the "hole" around the neck pickup (which is also far lower than Modulus' standard placement for its jazz-style basses)?

4. pickles

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    Oh geez ... I didn't even notice the oversize route!

Yea, sure looks like it started life as an "M92" then had the pickups and pickguard altered.

5. BASSNUTTT

BASSNUTTT

Feb 26, 2006
    MN
    Ya...there is a 94 5 string on epray just like it.(1994 modulus)...and my guess is it had been done at the factory ....theres no holes for a sweetspot pickup....and its definatly a pro job.

6. BruceWane

BruceWane

Oct 31, 2002
    Houston, TX
    Sure, there's a hole for the sweetspot pickup......look at the oversize rout for the neck pickup.

That started life as an M-92 and was modded for the J pickups. Might have been done at the factory, might have been done by a luthier some time after its "birth".....no way to tell.