1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

95 Jazz bass...questions about preamps

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by micgtr71, Mar 18, 2013.

1. micgtr71

micgtr71

Dec 4, 2012
    I have been playing bass for many years and have owned both passive and active basses. For the last ten years I have been playing the same jazz bass and have not played anything else other than trying something at a music store.

I want to put some more oomph into my bass. I have never played a jazz with active electronics...well, maybe emgs back in the day. Currently, the pickups in the jazz are stock as are the electronics.

My questions concern the addition of the preamp.

Is it worth adding a preamp to the existing pickups, or should they be upgraded as well?

Does it matter if the pickups are humbucking or single coil?

I have pretty much decided that I want to make the preamp an onboard one. Not sure what company to go with yet, but I want to sort out the questions concerning the original pickups.

Thank you for your help.

2. ctmullins

ctmullins fueled by beer and coconut Gold Supporting Member

Apr 18, 2008
    MS Gulf Coast
    I'm highly opinionated and extremely self-assured
    A quality onboard preamp should be nearly transparent. This means that the basic tone of the instrument should come from the pickups, and the preamp should simply add buffering (for clarity) and tone shaping ability. So if you like the basic tone you're getting now, then you don't need to change pickups; just add a good quality preamp. But if you want a different tone altogether, then the pickup swap is your first order of business, and the preamp should come later.

IMHO, of course. :)

3. micgtr71

micgtr71

Dec 4, 2012