A bit nervous......

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by jon mccumber, May 4, 2019.

Tags:
  1. I just landed a fill in sound/ house tech gig. The headliner(they have a touring engineer)is filled with some musicians I idolized as a teen.
    I will be mixing the opener(b-c level touring act) on the house M32. I have some experience with an x32rack and I own an x18, but have never used a full console. Any tips?
    Also,as a "house tech" who has only been inside this venue twice what will be expected of me by the touring engineer?

sing-modulator and LowActionHero like this.
  2. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    Uh...how did you get the job, if you don't mind me asking?

I suggest getting downloading the manual and getting into the venue asap to run some tracks through the PA and increase your familiarity. Don't wait until the gig.

Good luck! Sounds like a cool gig. You might consider bringing some ear plugs along.

3. TerenceE

TerenceE Supporting Member

Dec 6, 2015
    Spill it .....whos playing?

Bodeanly and Spectre1966 like this.
  4. I know the house tech. He had a family emergency. I am familiar with the mixing platform, but not the full size console. I use a x32rack . I'll have my tablet running mixing station that I know pretty well.

Stumbo likes this.
  5. TerenceE

TerenceE Supporting Member

Dec 6, 2015

6. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011
    A lot will be going on that needs your attention when it comes time to do sound check. You don't want to be fumbling around with the board's control surfaces.

You really need to be super familiar with how to get around the console. Usually if I have to mix on a new console, I try to get some time to root around with some recordings to make sure I can navigate between all the menus I need.