1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

A Composer Writes

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by Gareth Glyn, May 2, 2006.

1. Hi - I'm a composer. Players looking for a short, fun showpiece for the bass might be interested in trying my Microncerto, which was commissioned to be played by Dominic Seldis with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales. Since its premiere, it has also been performed by Lenny Finkelshteyn with the North Carolina Symphony, and in performances with the BBC Concert Orchestra and BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.

You can view the full score at SibeliusMusic, where you can also print it out for free (and hear a MIDI version); a recording of Dominic's performance can be downloaded, again at no cost, at this site, and I can provide a version for DB and piano (for rehearsal or performance purposes) on demand.

The piece was originally commissioned to display the full range (in every sense) of the bass to young people, but since then it seems to have been taken up for general public concerts too.

2. Nice work. It reminded me of Micheal Daughtry (not sure if I spelled his name right). I'm interested in hearing more of your works.

3. John453

John453

Apr 1, 2006
    Columbus, Ohio
    Really nice work! I liked the pizz bit in the middle. Have you written anything else for double bass? i'd be very interested in hearing any other works you have.

I know I couldn't play it, but I'd like the score for double bass and piano. I think my teacher would like it and I'd like to show him.
    John

4. Thanks for the feedback - I really appreciate it.

I've now uploaded the piano reduction of the Microncerto to this site as a pdf file.