1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A couple of extra newbie qu's

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by jakeyv, Mar 14, 2008.

1. jakeyv

jakeyv

Mar 14, 2008
    Hi,

I'm a self taught bass guitarist who cant really stop theorising about buying a doghouse, I read the newbie links and theres just a couple of further questions I wanted to ask:

1, I noticed mutes are available, but would they keep the volume of a DB down to the point where my neighbours wont garotte me with piano wire?

2, I've never played a fretless instrument before and I cant read music. Should I crack on and do something about either of these fact before depth-charging my credit card by buying a DB?

3, Teachers in glasgow are largely jazz/orchestral whereas I really want to play blues/roots/skiffle/maybe a little rockabilly. Is going to a teacher who doesn't really play the style you want a complete waste of time?

Any advice will be gratefully accepted,

Cheers,

j

2. Bass

Bass

Nov 10, 2003
    Canada
    I've only been playing 1 1/2 years, but I'll share my experience anyhow.

2. I don't read music either, and it doesn't matter to me. I play at a venue, I don't have a music stand or a sheet, I just know the song.

2. I'd never played a fretless either, so I bought a fretless electric bass first. Complete waste of time, entirely different instrument. The DB is probably a good instrument to learn how to play fretless.

3. A teacher is never a waste of time, always a good idea. I play "slap-bass" in a rock setting, my instructor (when I had one) plays in the symphony. The lessons I had were valuable.

3. JayR

JayR

Nov 9, 2005
    Los Angeles, CA