1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
    TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

A "Couple"(?) of Ken Smiths on eBay

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Yggdrasil, Mar 2, 2003.

  1. temp5897

    temp5897 Guest

  2. geshel


    Oct 2, 2001
    Aw crap not again. Good catch.
  3. geshel


    Oct 2, 2001
    I notified ebay (tried at least, didn't find the exact heading I was looking for).
  4. pilotjones

    pilotjones Supporting Member

    Nov 8, 2001
    You're allowed to have two concurrent auctions for the same lot of goods? :confused:

    (edited - spelling)
  5. sigterm

    sigterm ;) ;) ;), love y'all Supporting Member

    Feb 5, 2003
    Atlanta G of A
    yeah that doesnt seem right.

    is he canadian or american?
  6. Yggdrasil


    Aug 16, 2001
    I'm in Toronto, so I emailed the Ontario seller, asking for his phone # & an inspection of the bass.

    Here's his response:

    -----Original Message-----
    From: ALI ANAN [mailto:cornimic@yahoo.com]
    Sent: Monday, March 03, 2003 8:26 AM
    To: videoimage@sympatico.ca
    Subject: Re: Question for seller -- Item #2512906246

    i am not in Canada. i am in Europe. my phone # is 0040745589890
  7. geshel


    Oct 2, 2001
    It's not the same guy. Or, if it is, both auctions are bogus. But I think the original is legit.
  8. tuBass


    Dec 14, 2002
    Mesquite, Texas
    I sent an e-mail to both sellers asking for a close up pictue of the body. Let's see which one actually has the bass so a picture can be taken.
  9. fattychugs

    fattychugs Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Mar 3, 2003
    turtle lake wisconsin
    FYI-I think I may have purchased this bass a few years ago on the digibid website. exact description of woods and history of ordering in personfrom ken smith- same seller location. Seller did not want to sell for digibid price when I won it, said his wife put it on without permission and too much comission for digibid. so we worked out a deal, I sent him the money. he called and said it fell off of the stand and it hurt the neck and he was taking it in to have it fixed. he sent me a full refund. I have seen the bass advertised before on ebay, and each time have written the seller asking if it is the same one, but no reply's yet.
  10. tuBass


    Dec 14, 2002
    Mesquite, Texas
    here's an update. The seller of the auction ending with 9773, e-mailed me and said the other auction had hijacked his auction, but he didn't offer any pictures.

    The seller of the suction ending with 6246 said
    " i don't have a scanner but i told you it is in good condition"

    I wrote back "you don't have to have a scanner, just use the same digital camera you used to take pictures of it the first time.
    You know, for this kind of money, you think you would be a little more agreeable."

    pretty interesting Huh!
  11. JRBrown


    Jun 21, 2000
    North Carolina
    A Hijaak! I never would have guessed it. That's why it pays to make contact with the seller before sending the payment.
  12. tuBass


    Dec 14, 2002
    Mesquite, Texas
    The seller, cornimic@yahoo.com,
    told me his camera is broken.

    I wrote back
    "Sure it is":rolleyes:
  13. geshel


    Oct 2, 2001
    The previous high bidder retracted their bid.

    I wonder if Ebay has considered letting users start comment threads for auctions? It would be possible to abuse the system I suppose. But a simple link at the bottom of the page from this auction to the original one would be great.
  14. JRBrown


    Jun 21, 2000
    North Carolina
    The original seller has blocked my email address or his email is no longer any good. Has anyone made contact with: poolzt@aol.com ?
  15. arose11


    Sep 30, 2002
    Kalamazoo, MI
    same bass sure enough, check out the wood grain, its the same.
  16. tuBass


    Dec 14, 2002
    Mesquite, Texas
    I did, he's the one who told me the other seller was the fake, but did not provide me the picture I wanted as proof.

    I'd bet they're both bogus. :mad:
  18. jazzcatb17


    Dec 27, 2002
    Louisville, Ky
    fake or real, still beautiful
  19. Just to clarify, I think the auctions are bogus.

Share This Page