A darker sound

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bluerskiesburnt, Dec 8, 2004.

1. I've recently changed the style of music I play. It was a little bit of everything previously. BUt now I really wanna focus on my post hardcore styled band. So i'm searching for a killer low end. But I dont know where to start

My current rig is:
    behringher bx3000t head (300 watts)
    hartke vx410
    ibanez gsr200 (p-j)

As you can see I'm an artist on a budget. I was thinking of adding a 1x15 cab to reinforce that low end, ya know? But my friend suggested on getting a better bass seeing as how the bass I have is worth about 200 bucks if you've seen this model its the older one without the fancy bridge and eq.

My question is in order to attain a (post) hardcore, metal, hardcore punk sound what do i need to do?

cab or bass?

If so which cab do you reccommend? or What fender (precision) bass do you reccomend?
  2. try out some mim fenders (jazzes and ps), the quality control on them varies greatly, some are amazing, some are crap. either would work just fine for that style of music. also, adding the 1x15 would beef up the lows as well.
  3. i'm gonna say get the new bass first, i'm in pretty much the same situation you're in and after trying out a bunch of basses with the amp/cab setup i have getting a new bass is the best option, but if you're really strapped for cash you could upgrade the pickups instead

i'd go with a j- bass it's pretty versitile and you could get just about any sound you want out of them
  4. seanm

seanm I'd kill for a Nobel Peace Prize! Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    How do you like the bass? If you are happy with it, I wouldn't let the price worry you.

For a better low end, how about a 2x12? More oomph without getting muddy.
  5. Jazzbasslover

Dec 8, 2004
    Do you play with a pick? If so, a P-bass just might be the ticket.