1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

A depressing Situation

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by page, Apr 4, 2006.

1. Ok, I've got a long story to tell and if you TB folks don't mind I'd like to blow off some serious steam. I'm in the high school band. We have 74 people and compete against bands that are 150+ due to our school being large. We compete against those larger , richer bands and still manage to get in the top 4 at state championships these past three years. When I was in 8th grade our high school band was pathetic. But the same year my class moved into it, we got a new Director: Mr. G. You see Mr. G was the first director that led Florence High to all superior in Marching band and Concert band. He is young, only 30 and has been with my class since I was a freshman. We all loved Mr. G and most became very close to him. He was like a father figure to me, a great guy. Embarrassingly I'll admit he was somewhat of a hero to me, a role model. Of course despite his obvious charisma and the fact that most of us adored him, some were always out to get him. See, the name of the game in Florence is scandal. My town has a bad reputation for dirty launBdry. Anyhow, there were people who opposed him. Me and many of my peers defended him though, no matter what they'd say about his sometimes harsh methods of making us perfect as a band.This year has been especially difficult . Many of the senior class don't like Mr.G and many got kicked out . You see , our band though small is very tight knit , like a family, so this affects all of us. Due to egos and people being selfish and spoiled this year has been turbulent, even though we are the best we've ever been. I stood by Mr.G all through criticism and tons of bull****.