1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A Different Perspective on Guitar to Bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by rlgph, Nov 3, 2013.

1. I'm a guitarist who has agreed to learn bass guitar to provide a clear beat and bottom to an otherwise purely acoustic group that i jam with. I've searched and read quite a few threads about transitioning from playing guitar to playing bass, but haven't found them particularly useful because the discussion has almost always been in the context of electric guitar or lead guitar (or both).

In my group i've played acoustic rhythm guitar, using "Travis style" fingerpicking, where the thumb alternates plucking the root and (usually) the fifth "bass" string of the chord. The fingers then do something interesting (or at least relevant) with the treble strings. Occasionally i put in "bass" runs with my thumb during a chord transition.

My thought was that for my initial foray into playing bass that i could continue to form chords in pretty much the same way with my fretting hand as with guitar (leaving off the first two strings, of course), and continue the alternating thumb with my picking hand. I assumed that i could also do bass runs as on guitar. My fingers would mostly be unused, except occasionally plucking an octave higher root or fifth note for variety. I bought a very short scale bass (ibanez Mikro) with this in mind.

Is this a reasonable way for a beginner to play bass? (If i like the instrument i can see myself moving on to more bass-specific techniques, but that might be a ways off, as i want to continue learning to play solo guitar.) I appreciate any advice you care to provide. Thanks.

2. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    Starting from a place of familiarity sounds like a good idea to me.

3. Stumbo