Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A few amp questions...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bass_drum, Jul 16, 2005.

1. bass_drum

bass_drum

Feb 13, 2005
    Alberta,Canada
    Hey! As you may have read in my other thread, I found out that someone was selling a traynor tube head and a traynor 2x15 cab for $80. Now I havent seent this exact one, but Ive seen toher traynor 2x15 cabs and they all seemed to be 16 ohms. So I'm guessing that the cab is run in series (making each cab 8 ohms, right?). I'm wondering how I could change the wiring to parallel to therefore make the cabs total impendance 4 ohms, therefore making it way louder. Do you have any wiring diagrams with a really really good explanation since I'm very new to this.

Also, Im wondering whats a good way to test just the cab? I know that I should press on the sides of the cone lightly and make sure its a nice fluent motion, and to listen for squeeks/look for cracks and cuts, etc. But I dont know how to test the sound of it? I'm guessing that the cabs dont change the sound so much as project so should I even be worrying that much of how they change the sound or would it be such a minor difference that it doenst matter to much?

Now, I also know a few thigns about testing the head. I know I should crank it up about 3/4 of the way (volume wise) and make sure it still sounds nice. And that I should slowly turn each dial and listen for any hising or static. What else should I do?

Thanks for your time, ~JB~

(P.S. If I lower the impendance of a cab, does the wattage of the cab increase? or does it jsut get louder?)
    Thanks again!

2. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    Wrong.
    Wrong.
    Cabs do voice the sound coming out.