1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A few newbie questions...

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by JamieParkinson, May 2, 2010.

1. JamieParkinson

JamieParkinson

Apr 23, 2010
    London, UK
    Hi,

This is my first post on TB but I've been lurking for a while now - here goes. I'm a 16-year old student in the UK and I've been learning the DB for about a month now, but have over 9 years of experience of playing classical (and more recently jazz) piano and am currently around maybe a Grade 7 ABRSM level in that.

My double bass teacher is a lady who teaches piano at my school but plays DB in an orchestra. Because I'm leaving school for study leave for exams in a couple of weeks she's been trying to teach me the basics pretty fast in the few lessons we've had. I've unfortunately only been able to practise at lunchtimes for about half an hour at a time with the rubbish 1/4 size school basses (they're taught to younger students because of some jazz scheme), but will shortly be getting a 3/4 one hired.

I'm mainly interested in jazz playing but I still would like to develop a decent arco/classical ability. A local music shop which has a good reputation and the son of the owners is a bass player has recommended me a local jazz teacher who is apparently pretty much the best jazz bassist in the region, and I feel I will go to him when my exams are finished in a couple of months - hopefully he will be able to guide me in the best technique (as well as general jazziness), but until then and just in general I have a few questions, some specific and some more general...

- How do I play harmonics? I'm forcing myself to tune by ear with a tuning fork. Please give a very simple idiot's explanation.

- For practice in the mean time, should I get a version of Simandl and work through that to get good on my technique?