a few pointers on undoing my bass of it's coat

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by x4x, Dec 26, 2003.

1. x4x

May 10, 2003
    Hi, i've been walking around with this idea for quite some time now. I have this flat silver painted Yamaha RBX 774 bass. I want it to give it a more natural look by undoing it of its paint and givin it a nice natural finish, so that the woods shows all its beauty. It's an adler body. But i have a few questions. Since i don't have the money do let it be done by a pro, i was considdering doing it myself. But i have no experience what so ever in doing so. So, are there any things i should keep in mind? what laquer should i use? Do i have to remove all the electronics? Is it an overal risky/hard thing to do when you have never done such a thing before?

some pointers would be more then welcome!

thank you
  2. you're going to have to totally disassemble the bass. so it's just the body and nothing else. to get the finish off, i've used a belt sander and then palm sanders and files to get all the finish off the edges and hard-to-get places. it's a somewhat delicate process.
    once you get it down to the wood, and do a LOT of fine sanding (i finish with 220 grit) i'd recommend a wax finish. not only will it look natural and beautiful, it'll feel smooth and natural, not like a sticky laquer finish. i use a butcher's wax, you can pick it up an any home depot. tung oil is nice too (home depot has that as well.)

and be very careful when taking the bass apart, of course. especially with the electronics; it doesn't take much to mess them up when they're loose and on their own, as opposed to safely fit into place inside a guitar.
  3. bizzaro

Aug 21, 2000
  4. matt bass

matt bass

Apr 28, 2003
    Staffs, England