1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

a few questions about tube bass amps.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by XeNoChRiSt, Oct 29, 2017.

1. XeNoChRiSt

XeNoChRiSt

Apr 5, 2016
    Hey all! I'm a bassist in a thrash/groove band I've recently landed a job which has very good pay and can now afford a nice high end tube amp. I've always owned solid state and hybrid amps I like the clean sound of solid states but I play metal so I like an aggressive sound so I've always used overdrive pedals to add snarl. But I've heard that tube amps don't have a great slap tone, that concerns me a bit because I do a good amount of slap bass licks in my band. In your guy's opinion do tube amps handle slap sounds pretty well? and live im rarely ever mic'd, up 95% of the time I'm di does the natural overdrive from the tube amp go through the pa speakers?

2. DI only captures overdrive going into said DI. There are speaker level DI such as Countryman 85. That goes between amp and cab.

You could insert a regular DI in your FX loop and capture preamp overdrive.

Otherwise no.

If you think a tube amp can't do slap you have been listening to internet bollox.

3. XeNoChRiSt

XeNoChRiSt

Apr 5, 2016
    Gotcha, thanks for the response! I've never actually gotten to play a full tube amp, pretty unfortunate.

4. I use these
    Fender Super Bassman
    20170825_192108_zpspcfp5uvk.
    Ampeg V4B
    20171013_233758_zpsrq1ti0ir.
    And they reproduce whatever sound you put into em WITH the full all tube delish!!!
    I like em for all sorts of tones. ..clean, dirty, slap, whatever. .. the Super Bassman is very hard to beat.

Moosehead1966 and Sartori like this.
  5. XeNoChRiSt

XeNoChRiSt

Apr 5, 2016
    Very beautiful rigs! I'm looking at the mesa bass 400+ or maybe an older ampeg svt.