Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

a few questions

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by asglkjreio bill, Sep 29, 2002.

1. i decided to make a new thread because i had 2 different questions (while both related to DB, 2 differen area's) anyways...

Right now, the strings on my current bass (the one the college is graciously letting me barrow) are currently jazz strings, wich is fine, but im currently studying orchestral technique... wich brings me to the question of; are strings labeled "jazz strings" going to make a big difference from strings that are "orchestral" strings(not that it makes a difference, as i dont have the money to replace them right now) Im currently using a German bow, and a rosin i picked up for a cheap price at a local music store.

Also, before studying wich a teacher i took up simandl on my owne, and learned that the middle and the 3rd finger were to remain together, while my teacher is making me hold my 3rd and little finger together. Does anyone else play like this? Or might this be some sort of excersize to strengthen a finger (or strenghten the "getting used to" part of my brain, because being used to middle and 3rd together, it was pretty tough to jump to the 3rd and 4th together)

anyway, those are my only questions. thanks for reading (and answering if you do)

bill

2. The differences between jazz and orchestral strings will be mainly in how the sound, but there might be a difference in tension also. Orchestral strings will generally sound better bowed, and have lower tension. When you get the cash, the strings should be the next thing you look at replacing for that bass (assuming everything else is in decent condition). Try out a variety of "orchestral" strings and see which sound and feel best with your bass.