Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A few simple questions as I plan my first bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Ozzel, Oct 6, 2004.

1. I am going to build myself a five-string solid-body bass, although I have no woodworking experience whatsoever. I guess it's a crazy idea. Any rational person would probably just buy a bass, but I feel compelled by my creativity and the desire to own something that no one in the world has. (No, I am not doing this to save money.) I've got lots of time to plan this project, and I know the support in this forum is always top notch, so I'm determined. Before I make any wood chips, I'm hoping you luthiers out there, both amateur and pro, can answer a few "simple" questions I've got.

1. The body will be two pieces, joined right at the center. It will have a bookmatched top. I may also decide to put a veneer of a contrasting color between the body and the top. With that many layers going on, one of them being very thin, am I right in assuming that it's easier and better to glue the layers to each half of the body, then join the halves together?

2. Do I have to make sure each of the layers is the correct thickness before gluing, or can I thickness sand the whole piece once the glue is dry?

3. Do I cut my body shape before or after joining (or is it jointing) the two halves?

4. What is the proper surface preparation for the layers before gluing?

5. What is the proper surface preparation for the body halves before gluing?

6. Concerning string spacing, nut width and width of the last fret, what would be considered standard measurements for someone like me with medium-sized hands? I am currently planning on a nut width of 1.75", 3" width at the 24th fret and a bridge which will accommodate .75" spacing. Does that sound good?