1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

A first 6 string bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Ziltoid, Apr 10, 2009.

1. Ziltoid

Ziltoid I don't play bass

Apr 10, 2009
    Canada
    As many bassist i think the time has come to step to something new, that will allow to dig more stuff n to go more in depth of what "can be" done. The way to do it seemed obvious at first a 6 string bass. After a few weeks of shopping and stuff i have more questions then i had at the beginning.

As i am a student my budget aint unlimited, part time job gives what part time jobs gives eh.

So far the bass that came up is the Ibanez sr506, there starts the questions, what was your experience with it, how do you like it n blablabla. Also Is there any other bass you would suggest me to consider in that price range.

yes i will get answers like" depends what you play n the such, feel free to post them but just take in count that im really open minded, i try to dig as much style/technique/music as i possibly can.

2. You should try the Rouge 6 string on MF.....the next is similar to an Ibanez...I own it (although mine is defretted) for $249.00 its one heck of a bass!

3. Ziltoid

Apr 10, 2009
    Canada
    I'm not really a fan of rogue, and that model is not having the best reviews/comments, and my budget is more around 850~ Can

o and, more replies por favor? :)

4. bassvi

bassvi

Jul 12, 2005
    Iowa
    I had a SR506 for a short time, for some reason I couldn't get the tone I was looking for out of it. It was very light and nice to play though. I would have kept it if it had more mids in the tone pallette.

I picked up a used Peavey Cirrus 6 on Ebay for $750 a couple of years ago, it's a very good bass. I think you can get also a new Yamaha TRB 6 for around what you are looking to spend too.

5. Ziltoid