Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A friend is no longer...

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Sundogue, Mar 23, 2005.

1. Sundogue

Sundogue

Apr 26, 2001
    Wausau, WI
    This is kind of a long rant...sorry, but I need to get this off my chest.

I met this guy about 15 years or so ago. The guy had all kinds of ideas for things like board games, etc.

I'm an artist and a writer. I painted a lot of commercial art for him to help him get his board game ideas off the ground. They were really cool games and we both thought they'd go over big time.

Over the years, we've always worked together on projects like this. We had our share of creative differences that were almost knock down - drag out fights. But in the end, the projects got done and we were always happy about it. We became pretty good friends over the years.

Last year he had a new idea. He wanted me to write a book for him. It was the story of his life. It was really interesting. It involved drug deals, the DEA, rich families trying to ruin his family, and even the mafia (I'm not making this up). This story is a movie of the week if there ever was one.

I spent the better part of a year writing this book. It was really good (IMO). My wife and I both read a lot of books and have quite a collection. We had many others read what I wrote and alot of the professional opinions were that it had the makings of a best seller.

Of course we had our creative differences. This guy, admittedly, can't read or write very well. He has about the equivalent of a third grade education and even admits he's never even read a single book in his life.

After I wrote it, and he paid me for it (what payment we agreed on), he continued to harass me about making changes. Changes that were absurd, at odds with the storyline, incorrect grammatically and frankly made the book start to really look like a third grader wrote it.