A good amp that isn't very expensive for a beginner?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by I_am_Rage, Aug 28, 2000.

1. I am a beginner on the bass and i am looking to get my first amp. I am looking for a good quality amp that isn't very expensive. Does any one have any suggestions?
  2. VicDamone

Jun 25, 2000
    For $270 this combo has great tone and modest features. Very portable, small, and LIGHT! Compare it to combos twice the size and price. People spend more than this on cables.
  3. JimmyLikesBeans

Aug 19, 2000
    I am assuming your not thinking of playing in a band right away, and you want a small amp to hear yourself. I would consider a small headphone amp or one with a small speaker. Try http://www.musiciansfriend.com or http://www.music123.com, they should have a selection of very affordable amps just to practice with. If you want to jam with friends, or dont want to deal with headphones, the 25 watt might be a good start, but you will have a tough time being heard over the drummer, guitarists, etc...

good luck
  4. jcadmus

Apr 2, 2000